England hit 67-2 at lunch after winning the throw



CAPE TOWN (Reuters) – English Paceman Jofra Archer will miss the second test against South Africa on Friday and fuel the misery for visitors after the announcement of Rory Burns return home with an ankle injury at the end of the tour overnight.

The Englishman Jofra Archer looks depressed when he frees himself from the bowling of South African Anrich Nortje, who was caught by Rassie van der Dussen REUTERS / Rogan Ward

With Zak Crawley, Ollie Pope and Dominic Bess, who joined the team after the first test defeat, England won the litter and opted for a hot first day in Newlands.

"It looks good and we hope we can take advantage of it and get a good result," said English captain Joe Root.

Archer has a recurrent elbow injury and has not exercised in the past two days. England decided to give him time to rest for the rest of the series.

On Friday, officials said he would do a second scan to better diagnose the injury.

South African captain Faf du Plessis, who has now lost five times in a row, said he also decided to hit first. "But there is always something for bowlers in Newlands in the first session on the first day," he added.

The inclusion of off-spinner Bess means breathing space for seasoned bowlers James Anderson and Stuart Broad, who were expected to drop after England lost the first test in Pretoria with 107 runs.

Bess had not been selected from the original team, but was flown before the first test in South Africa after a flu virus swept through the camp in England and left several players bedridden.

The 21-year-old Crawley is only contesting his second test and starting with Dom Sibley.

South Africa made first test debut to Pieter Malan at the age of 30 to replace injured Aiden Markram, who had a broken finger surgery this week and will no longer play a role in the series.

You have made no further changes.


South Africa – Dean Elgar, Pieter Malan, Zubayr Hamza, Faf du Plessis, Rassie van der Dussen, Quinton de Kock, Dwaine Pretorius, Vernon Philander, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje.

England – Zak Crawley, Dom Sibley, Joe Denly, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Pope Ollie, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Dominic Bess, Stuart Broad, James Anderson.

Edited by John Stonestreet